Punjab on a Slippery Turf Against Bengal in Cooch Behar Trophy

Resuming at overnight 123 for 8 Punjab were bowled out for 168 in 74.2 overs. Overnight batsman Akul Partap Pandove and Nipun Pandita took the score to 135 before Akul Partap Pandove was caught by Sudeep Kumar Gharami off Knishak Seth for 36 off 96 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries. Thereafter Nipun Pandita and Rishab Bhagat added 33 runs for the last wicket before Nipun Pandita was caught by Sudeep Kumar Gharami off Sandeepan Dass for 26 off 41 deliveries inclusive of 3 boundaries. Rishab Bhagat remained unbeaten on 07. For Bengal Knishak Seth 5 for 50 and Sandeepan Dass 4 for 45 were the main wicket takers.

Bengal started their second innings with Sudeep Kumar Gharami and Ankur Paul and the duo added 36 runs for the first wicket in 13.3 overs before Ankur Paul was caught and bowled by Abhinav Sharma for 24 off 43 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries. Bengal then lost Sourabh Singh (04) and Sudeep Kumar Gharami (19) in guick succession reducing Bengal to 56 for 3 in 28.4 overs. Medium pacer Rishab Bhagat striking the twin blows by first having Sourabh Singh caught by wicket keeper Mayank Sidhu and then trapping Suddeep Kumar Gharami plumb in front of the wicket. Kazi Junedh Sefi and Ankita Das then got together to reconstruct Bengal's innings by judicious stroke play and went on to add 126 runs in 21.4 overs for the 4th wicket. The partnership was broken by off spinner Akul Partap Pandove when he had Arkita Dass trapped in front for a sedate half century (53) off 130 balls studded with 7 boundaries and one six. Kazi Junedh Sefi then in company of Mohd. Irfan Ansari saw the day through to take Bengal's total to 194 for 4 in 73 overs at close of 3rd days play. Kazi Junedh Sefi was unbeaten on 71 off 137 balls studded with 10 boundaries while Mohd. Irfan Ansari was unbeaten on 10 off 10 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries. Bengal had an overall lead of 285 runs with 6 wickets in hand. For Punjab Rishab Bhagat 2 for 41, Mayank Markande 1 for 25 and Akul Partap Pandove 1 for 37 were the main wicket takers.